One World Media Awards For Journalists In Developing Countries 2024

The One World Media Awards are an opportunity to have your work recognised amongst the best in global journalism.

The One World Media Awards recognise the best media coverage of the global south. Stories that break through stereotypes, change the narrative and connect people across cultures. 


Each year, hundreds of entries from all over the world are judged by our panels of distinguished professionals, carefully selected from the media and non-profit sectors for their wide ranging experience and expertise.


The One World Media Awards celebrate and recognise the best media coverage across a wide range of genres that focus on low- and middle-income
across the global south; stories that break through stereotypes, change the narrative and connect people across cultures. We open for entries on 4 January 2024.


Our Fellowship programme is a springboard for new talent covering stories globally with creativity and integrity. Selected fellows receive a £1,000 production grant, one-to-one mentoring and a year-round programme of industry workshops and webinars, while they produce a non-fiction piece of media. Applications to the annual programme will open 22 February 2024


Eligibility One World Media Awards


All entries should focus on stories, topics or issues in, about or related to low- and middle-income countries and peoples across the global south. Broadly, countries in the global south are located in Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, Asia (excluding Israel, Japan, and South Korea), and Oceania (excluding Asia and New Zealand). Global south countries are largely recognised through identifiers such as low standards of living, low income-economies, high poverty levels, deficient health systems, amongst other factors. As the list of countries which are considered to be global south can vary, we draw on both this list compiled by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and the World Population Review’s Global South Countries 2024 list, and we would consider entries from countries on either of these lists. We also welcome stories related to indigenous peoples and communities from anywhere in the world. If you are uncertain whether your entry would meet our criteria or have any questions about the eligibility of your entry please email us at

Related Post  The NITDA Female Founders Training Programme 2023

There is a fee to enter the Awards except the Press Freedom Award category, which is free and open only to organisations. But discounts are available:

Each entry is:

  • £165 standard fee (organisations)
  • £40 for freelancers
  • £25 for students


Apply Now