Apply For Unesco King Hamad Bin Isa Al-Khalifa Prize For The Use Of Ict In Education (Us$ 25,000 Prize)

The UNESCO King Hamad Bin Isa Al-Khalifa Prize for the Use of ICT in Education recognizes innovative approaches in leveraging new technologies to expand educational and lifelong learning opportunities for all, in line with the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and its Goal 4 on education.

Established in 2005 with the support of the Kingdom of Bahrain, the Prize rewards individuals and organizations that are implementing outstanding projects and promoting the creative use of technologies to enhance learning, teaching and overall educational performance in the digital age. An international Jury selects two best projects annually.

Every year the Prize has a specific theme, which, while being in line with UNESCO’s mandate and values, advocates for responsible and ethical use of information and communication technologies.

Theme for 2023: Digital learning for greening education.

The 2023 edition of the UNESCO ICT in Education Prize aims to explore the synergies between digital learning and greening education, two priority areas underscored during the Transforming Education Summit that took place in 2022.

Digital learning, with its potential to expand access and improve the quality of learning, offers an avenue for the delivery of curricula and pedagogy to equip learners with the knowledge, skills, values and attitudes on climate change and promote sustainable development. Thus, the 2023 edition of the Prize aims to surface and maximize the impact of best practices in leveraging digital technologies to develop competencies and forge an active commitment to sustainable development among learners.

Eligibility criteria

  • Be relevant to the theme of the year
  • The project should be ongoing for at least 1 year
  • The project and its organization should not be affiliated to UNESCO or receive any funding from UNESCO
  • The project should be public and free of charge
Related Post  Nirsal Opens New Application Portal For Its AGSMEIS Loan 2024


  • Each prizewinner receives US$ 25,000, a medal and a diploma during a ceremony at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris.


  • December 2023: Launch of the call for nomination
  • 5 February 2024: Deadline for submission
  • March 2024: International Jury meeting
  • September 2024: Award Ceremony at UNESCO Headquarters (to be confirmed)